top of page
  • elephanteyes2024

Update + Fun Fact!

Hello! We've decided to extend the submission window to April 12th. If you planned on submitting, then you've got some more time!


While the submission window is open, I wanted to talk about how we came up with the name and logo for Elephant Eyes!


When starting this journal, I knew I wanted to do something with psychology. I even almost went the psychological horror route (which is also encouraged if done artistically!). However, when deciding between the two, I thought that having a journal focused on mental health would be more beneficial to its readers, and thus the topic!


As for the design of the logo, it came from a few sources. Elephants are a symbol of wisdom, and one of my favorite songs at the time was "White Lies and Purple Elephants" by Lucky Fifth Dragon, a song about the social and psychological consequences of letting lies take over your life.


Then came the eyes. The right eye is meant to represent calmness and self-awareness, so I went for a cooler pallet of colors. (I also just really like dark colors.) The left eyes, however, is a reference to the drawing "Meine Augen zur Zeit der Erscheinungen," or in English, "My eyes at the Moment of Apparition." The artist, August Natterer, was an early 20th century artist who suffered from schizophrenia and spent the last few years of his life in a mental asylum.


I learned about him while I was going through a depressive episode, and you know the phrase "Art should disturb the comforted and comfort the disturbed"? I'm not fully sure what it was, but seeing those suffering eyes reminded me that I wasn't alone. That drawing showed me how important it is to talk about mental health. No one has any idea what's happening in anyone's lives, but if we can offer a moment of solidarity, then maybe that can be enough to keep someone going.


Keep sending in your submissions! We love what we're reading so far!


Sincerely,

Emma





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page